December 10, 2020

Russia Launches Unified e-Visa for Nationals of 52 Countries

The government of the Russian Federation has announced that a new unified e-visa program will be available for nationals of 52 countries as of January 2021, and will include the following features:

    • Validity for the whole territory of Russia
    • Validity for a 60-day window, allowing for a single entry and maximum stay of up to 16 days
    • Entry for business, guest, and tourism purposes, as well as for participation in scientific, cultural, social-political, economic, and sporting events
    • EntrEntrEntry and exit will be possible only via the border checkpoints included in an approved list from the Russian government (such as the airports of Moscow and other major Russian cities)
    • Entr

Visa applications can be submitted online via the MFA of Russia website a mobile app and must be requested no later than 4 calendar days prior to the date of entry. An invitation from a host party or hotel booking will not be required. In case of refusal, the authorities are under no obligation to provide a reason or explanation. Fees are expected to be US$40 per applicant with no charge for children under 6 years of age.

The e-visa will be available for nationals of the following 52 countries as per the approved list issued by the Russian government:

1. Austria

2. Andorra

3. Bahrain

4. Belgium

5. Bulgaria

6. The Vatican

7. Hungary

8. Germany

9. Greece

10. Denmark

11. India

12. Indonesia

13. Iran

14. Ireland

15. Iceland

16. Spain

17. Italy

18. Cyprus

19. China (incl. Taiwan)

20. DPRK

21. Kuwait

22. Latvia

23. Lithuania

24. Liechtenstein

25. Luxembourg

26. Malaysia

27. Malta

28. Mexico

29. Monaco

30. Netherlands

31. Norway

32. Oman

33. Poland

34. Portugal

35. Romania

36. San Marino

37. Saudi Arabia

38. North Macedonia

39. Serbia

40. Singapore

41. Slovakia

42. Slovenia

43. Turkey

44. Philippines

45. Finland

46. France

47. Croatia

48. Czech Republic

49. Switzerland

50. Sweden

51. Estonia

52. Japan

For further information on the Russian e-visa, please contact the Sterling Lexicon immigration team at

Leanne Cottrell

Leanne Cottrell

As Head of Immigration with Sterling Lexicon, Leanne leads a team of specialists who are responsible for ensuring the entire immigration process is smooth and stress-free for clients, assignees and their accompanying family members. She brings over ten years of experience in strategic immigration management, planning and consultation to her role, and has cultivated invaluable knowledge and experience in processing countless global migration applications. As a trusted partner, she consults with clients on everything from policy considerations and cost or efficiency improvements, to the impact of opening offices in new locations. Leanne is a frequent presenter and author on global immigration topics and trends.

Related Posts